Home... Transactions... Team Rosters... 40-Man Roster... 2025 Projected Rosters... Podcast
News.... Lineups.... Stats.... Draft History.... International Signings.... Scouting Log.... Forum

SoxProspects News

September 18, 2006 at 6:08 AM

9/18 Cup of Coffee

For the first time in their franchise history, Portland won the Eastern League Championship defeating Akron 8-5 in the fifth and deciding game. The Sea Dogs scored 4 runs in the second and another 4 in the third to coast to victory. Devern Hansack started and went 8 innings. He allowed 3 runs on 7 hits. He had 8 Ks and did not walk a batter. Jon Searles came into the game in the 9th and gave up 2 runs on 2 hits. Jacoby Ellsbury went 2 for 4 with a run scored and an RBI. George Kottaras went 1 for 4 with an RBI. Chris Durbin went 2 for 4 with 2 runs scored. Brian Myrow went 1 for 3 with a home run, 2 runs scored and 2 RBI. Keoni DeRenne went 1 for 4 with a run scored and 3 RBI. Attendence was 3,937. Brandon Moss was selected as the MVP of the Playoffs. He batted .361, had 5 homers and 10 RBI in the two series.

Player of The Night: Devern Hansack, who won his second game of the Championship series against Akron going 8 gutsy innings. He allowed 3 runs on 7 hits. He did not give up a walk and had 8 Ks.